Reconciliation Australia

Read Article



The Reconciliation Australia Board of Directors consists of 11 people,five Aboriginal, one Torres Strait Islander and five non-Indigenous Australians. Our Board is made up of respected leaders in their fields who share a determination to do what it takes to build reconciliation in Australia.

Dr Tom Calma AO (Co-Chair) is an Aboriginal elder from the Kungarakan tribal group and a member of the Iwaidja tribal in the NT. Currently the National Coordinator for Tackling Indigenous Smoking, Dr Calma previously served as the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Social Justice Commissioner and the Race Discrimination Commissioner. Dr Calma has a special interest in Indigenous education, employment and training programs.

Ms Melinda Cilento (Co-Chair) is a non-excutive director with Woodside Petroleum. She has previously held senior positions with the Business Council of Australia (BCA) and Commonwealth Department of Treasury. Ms Cilento has also worked with County Investment Management (now Invesco) and the International Monetary Fund.

The Hon Fred Chaney AO is Chair of Desert Knowledge Australia. Formerly a lawyer, Mr Chaney served as a Liberal Senator for WA (1974-90) and a Member of the House of Representatives (1990-93). He held various Ministerial appointments in the Fraser government,including Aboriginal Affairs. He has also been Chancellor of Murdoch University and a deputy president of the National Native Title Tribunal.

Mr Jason Glanville is a member of the Wiradjuri peoples from south-western New South Wales. He has worked in a range of positions in community-based Indigenous organisations and as a senior policy adviser in Commonwealth and State government departments. Mr Glanville is currently the CEO of the National Centre of Indigenous Excellence (NCIE) and is also on the boards of the Australian Indigenous Leadership Centre (AILC) and creative arts organisation the Carriageworks in Sydney, NSW.

Dr Ken Henry AC is director of National Australia Bank Ltd, Executive Chair of the Institute of Public Policy at the ANU, Chair of the Advisory Council of the SMART Infrastructure Facility at the University of Wollongong and Board Director of the ASX Limited. For a decade commencing in April 2001 he was Secretary to the Treasury, a member of the Board of the Reserve Bank of Australia and a member of the Board of Taxation. From June 2011 to the end of 2012 Dr Henry served as Special Advisor to the Prime Minister. In 2007 he was made a Companion in the Order of Australia.

Ms Djapirri Mununggirritj is a Yolngu elder from North East Arnhem Land; a strong woman with a deep commitment to her people. She is currently working with the Department of Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs as an Indigenous Engagement Officer and is a trailblazer in the political arena. Ms Mununggirritj was instrumental in establishing the Yirrkala Women’s Patrol which saw Aboriginal elders walk the streets late at night to successfully deal with domestic violence, alcohol and other community safety issues. In 2011 she received the Northern Territory Australia’s Local Hero Award.

Mr Peter Nash is the Australian Chairman of KPMG and holds positions on KPMG?s Global and Asia Pacific boards. Having joined KPMG in 1982, Mr Nash has worked for the firm in Australia, Canada and the Asia Pacific region, and led a number of major global accounts spanning the financial services and energy and natural resources sectors. Mr Nash has held a number of senior roles including Head of Markets and Head of People, Performance and Culture, and most recently Head of Audit in Australia and the Asia Pacific region.

Ms Kirstie Parker is a Yuwallarai woman from NSW and Co-Chair of the National Congress of Australia’s First Peoples. She has 25 year’s experience in mainstream and Indigenous journalism, communications and management of Indigenous organisations, Tandanya National Aboriginal Cultural Institute, and the Australian Indigenous Leadership Centre. Previously, she was editor of national Indigenous newspaper The Koori Mail; media adviser to a federal government minister and head of public affairs for the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission (ATSIC).

Ms Joy Thomas is the National Principal Adviser with Australian Medicare Local Alliance (AML Alliance). She joined the Australian General Practice Network (AGPN) in 2007 after serving for many years as an adviser to former Deputy Prime Minister John Anderson, and chief of staff to Ministers in the Howard Government.

Mr Kenny Bedford lives on and represents the remote Island of Erub (Darnley) on the Torres Strait Regional Authority. He has held the Executive position of Portfolio Member for Fisheries since 2008 and is President of the Erub Fisheries Management Association, a member of Erubam Le Traditional Land and Sea Owners (TSI) Corporation and sits on Far North Queensland’s Abergowrie College Community Consultative Committee. Mr Bedford has a Bachelor of Applied Health Science and Diploma of Youth Welfare, received the Vincent Fairfax Fellowship in 2000, and is a current participant of the Australian Rural Leadership Program.

薬 通販なら安心くすりネットで

Leave a Reply

* (公開されません)